Was just thinking about my relationship w/ my parents.  Which I sometimes think is pretty good, because we never fight that much.  But after I moved out and became 100% independent a few years ago, I started to notice some things, that have always happened that are negative, but I never really realized it until I moved out.  Now sometimes I feel resentful, which I don’t want.  Sometimes I can think it’s no big deal, then other times it really annoys me, I get into “victim mode thinking” and I feel horrible.  But I’m still glad I’m recognizing these things that are wrong  – because that in and of itself- alone – recognizing something isn’t being done right- gives me the power to change- and give it less power over me.  And then I struggle with (but feel good when I achieve it), forgiving, offering them grace, and loving them anyhow, in light of patterns that they keep doing (and see nothing wrong with), that have effected me in a hugely negative way, and would continue to do so had I not recognized it as not right.  But it’s important for all of us to be good to our parents even if we feel thay are totally messed up at times (which is bound to happen, even if you have great parents).  I figure, we need to offer our parents grace, because if they knew what they did wrong had a huge negetive impact and really messed you up, they probably wouldn’t want it for you.  But they aren’t able to see it’s full impact, and they don’t and probably won’t ever totally grasp the whole picture of it’s affect.  Plus, another reason to offer grace, I figure, we’re honestly all going to mess up on parenting our kids some day a bit.  Really we are.  Maybe not in the same areas as our parents- perhaps we’ll be more aware of the consequences of their pitfalls, but we’ll have our own little set that we’re blind too- and we’ll be hoping any damage we do to our kids they’ll be forgiving of-  so we really should show mercy on our parents if that’s what we’re going to expect to need in the future.  Paying it forward in a sense.  Okay, I’m tired so don’t know if that makes any sense. 

Hope you all are having a good evening!

3 thoughts on “

  1. I struggle with that a lot, as well. I know that my parents wants the best for me, but sometimes I think that we have very different ideas of what “best” means, and it leads to all sorts of frustration on both sides. With age and distance, they’re starting to let go a little bit, but about 10 years too late…

  2. yeah.. i had a rough relationship with my parents right before and after i moved out to AZ…. even though i had been on my own for years i decided to start over. they didnt think it was ‘best’ for me at all, we had some fights and i struggled to prove them wrong and some days i still do. but in the end we all know what is best for us and people/ parents may not agree….. but in the end things will always work out and as long as we are happy they are too (for the most part. lol)

Leave a comment